Are you at least 21 years old?

Exit Website

Skip to Main Content

NJ’s Recreational Cannabis Sales

In 2020, New Jersey’s state constitution was amended to legalize the recreational consumption of cannabis. State lawmakers passed the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization (CREAMM) Act to create a framework for the sale of recreational marijuana and certain cannabis-related products to people 21 years of age and older. Recreational sales were officially allowed by properly licensed dispensaries in the state of April 21st, 2022. The early returns are in: New Jersey recreational cannabis sales are booming. 

New Jersey’s Second Quarter Recreational Cannabis Sales Hit $160 Million 

According to a report from New Jersey Business, New Jersey’s recreational cannabis sales reached $160.2 million in second quarter Q2 2023. Not only was that a 10 percent increase from the previous quarter, it was a record high for the state’s program. That being said, the number of medicinal marijuana sales dropped slightly. Regulators believe that some of the people who were previously in the medicinal marijuana market in New Jersey have shifted to the recreational market. Total marijuana sales in New Jersey in Q2 2023 exceeded $190 million—generating substantial revenue for the state. 

An Overview of the Laws Governing Recreational Cannabis Sales in New Jersey

Cannabis regulation is complex. Here are some of the key things to know about the New Jersey state laws that govern the sale and personal use of recreational cannabis: 

  • Recreational Use Lawful for 21 and Older: In New Jersey, adults aged 21 and above are legally allowed to use cannabis for recreational purposes. Notably, the age restriction parallels that of alcohol and it emphasizes the state’s commitment to preventing consumption by youth. 
  • Recreational Users Can Purchase One Ounce or Equivalent: For those eligible to buy recreational cannabis, there’s a purchase limit in place. Users can buy up to one ounce of cannabis flower or its equivalent in other products such as edibles or concentrates. Notably, users 21 years of age and older can possess up to six ounces. 
  • New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission (CRC) Regulates: The state has entrusted the CRC with the crucial task of overseeing and regulating cannabis. From seed to sale, the CRC sets standards, procedures, and rules to ensure the safety, quality, and integrity.
  • Dispensaries Must Be Properly Licensed: To operate legally, all dispensaries in New Jersey need to acquire a license. This is a crucial step to maintain a transparent and regulated market. Prospective dispensaries must meet several criteria and regulations before being granted a license by the CRC. 
  • Recreational Cannabis Taxed, Medicinal Cannabis Not: Recreational cannabis is taxed in New Jersey. There is a 6.625 percent sales tax, plus a social equity tax. However, New Jersey removed that sales tax for medicinal marijuana. 

City Leaves is a Top Provider of Recreational Cannabis 

At City Leaves, we provide reliable, cost effective recreational cannabis. Do you have questions about the recreational cannabis products that are currently available in New Jersey? We are your resource. Check out our products page to learn more about what we currently have available!